A commercial motor vehicle (CMV) is defined in Colorado Law as “…any self-propelled or towed vehicle bearing an apportioned plate or having a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or gross combination rating (GCWR) of sixteen thousand one pounds or more, which vehicle is used in commerce on the public highways of this state or is designed to transport sixteen or more passengers, including the driver; and (II) Any motor vehicle designed or equipped to transport other motor vehicles from place to place by means of winches, cables, pulleys, or other equipment for towing, pulling, or lifting, when such motor vehicle is used in commerce on the public highways of this state.”
Vehicle Markings – vehicle must be marked on both sides with company name and DOT number. Colorado also requires the last 8 digits of the VIN number to be marked on the passenger side of the vehicle. Combination vehicles may mark the trailer if the power unit’s GVWR is 10,000 pounds or less. (390.21)
Emergency Equipment – vehicle must have a fire extinguisher with at least a 5 B:C rating and either three bi-directional reflective triangles or fuses. (CFR 393.95)
Trailer Brakes – all towed vehicles weighing more than 3, 000 pounds must have brakes on all wheels. These towed vehicles must also have a breakaway brake system to apply the service brakes of the towed vehicle in the event of the towed vehicle becoming detached from the towing vehicle. (393.42 / CRS 42-4-223)
Annual Inspections – all CMVs must be inspected annually and proof of that inspection must be carried in the vehicle. A copy of the annual inspection must also be kept in the CMV’s maintenance file. (396.17)
Hours of Service – all commercial vehicle drivers must prepare records of duty status. (395.8).
CFR 395.1(e) provides and exemption from 395.8 if the driver does not go more than 100 air miles from the point where he/she was dispatched, and the driver returns to the point of dispatch, and is totally released from duty within 12 hours, and the company keeps time records. The company must maintain those time records for 180 days. The time records must contain the time reporting for work, time leaving work and total amount of time on duty for every day of the week.
Driver Vehicle Inspection Reports (DVIR) – a commercial vehicle driver must prepare a written report at the completion of each day’s work listing any defect or deficiency discovered. There are 11 specific items the driver must inspect. (396.11)
Seatbelt Use – a commercial motor vehicle shall not be driven unless the driver has properly restrained him/herself within the seat belt assembly. (392.16)
(49 CFR 383)
|16,001 pounds to 26,000 pounds (non-hazmat interstate)||YES||NO|
|16,001 pounds to 26,000 pounds (non-hazmat intrastate)||NO||NO|
|16,001 pounds to 26,000 pounds (placardable amount of hazmat)||YES||YES|
|26,001 pounds and above (includes GCWR of 26,001> pounds when the towed unit has a GVWR of 16,001> pounds by itself)||YES||YES|
|Buses designed to transport 16+ passengers including driver (includes school, church and daycare buses)||YES||YES|
For additional information on qualifications and exemptions, please call the Department of Revenue, CDL section at 303-205-5829.
Commercial Drivers License Information
Colorado Department of Revenue / Motor Carrier Services / CDL
Vehicle License and Registration Information
Colorado Department of Revenue
303-205-5607 (intrastate registration)
303-205-5602 (interstate registration)
Port of Entry / Size & Weight Information
Colorado State Patrol / Ports of Entry
Insurance Requirements / Operating Authority
Colorado Public Utilities Commission
Colorado DOT Number Application
ColoradoState Patrol / Motor Carrier Safety Section
Extra Legal Loads / Longer Combination Vehicle Permits
Colorado Department of Transportation / Permit Office
Special Fuel Requirements
Department of Revenue / Fuel Section
Colorado Hazardous Materials / Hazardous Waste Information
Colorado State Patrol / Hazardous Materials Section
Colorado Motor Carrier Safety Regulation Information
Colorado State Patrol / Motor Carrier Safety Section
Federal Regulations Information / USDOT Number Application
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
Regulatory Forms and General Information
Colorado Motor Carriers Association
303-433-3375, ext. 101
Colorado “Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Program” now Operational and Enforcement has Started.
All Colorado Motor carriers with Interstate operations (commercial motor vehicle used to cross state lines). That have not registered for Unified Carrier Registration yet, please be advised that as of 01/01/14, you are in violation of Colorado Revised Statute 40-10.5-102. This is Colorado State law requiring registration in the UCR program. It is mandatory that you register for the Unified Carrier Registration program as required for the year 2014. Noncompliance and Failure to register for UCR can result in a fine of $1,100 for first violation according to Colorado Code of Regulations 6402(a)(b). Please note that Farm Plates or Agricultural Commercial Motor Vehicles are NOT exempt from this program.
The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Program is a Federally-mandated, annual state-administered registration program that replaced Single State Registration. The registration is due at the beginning of each calendar year. As a courtesy, a 2014 form is enclosed 2014 registration is due IMMEDIATELY.
WWW.UCR.IN.GOV is the internet link Colorado uses to register online: WARNING! Please ensure you type the address in the Web Address bar of your browser. By using a search engine, you can be directed to 3rd party registration services that charge large premiums for filing for you. If in doubt that you are on the correct site, please refer to the fee brackets Listed below to determine what your registration fee should be.
You have the option to register only the vehicles that cross state lines, and deduct the vehicles that are used in intrastate commerce only. If you use this option, you must prepare the UCR1 Form (Found on the WWW.UCR.IN.GOV site), listing all vehicles not registered and file it with the Public Utilities Commission. This can be done by E-Mail, Fax, Or Mail.