A driver typically needs to have a CDL to operate any vehicle involved in commerce that:
No. Several vehicles are exempt from requiring a CDL for their operation and may be driven without a CDL legally. These vehicles include: Recreation vehicles used for recreation purposes; Military vehicles driven by military personnel; Firefighting equipment; Emergency snowplowing vehicles during snow removal operations; and Farm vehicles when controlled and operated by a farmer within 150 air miles of a person’s farm.
In the interests of public safety, commercial drivers are held to higher physical, mental and emotional standards than non-commercial drivers. The FMCSA DOT physical examination is required to help ensure that a person is medically qualified to safely operate a commercial vehicle. State and Federal law require that standards be met in order to qualify for a license to operate commercial vehicles professionally.
Yes. All Colorado CDL holders must have a valid DOT medical certificate and must provide a copy of the DOT medical certificate to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) every time the DOT physical exam is renewed or updated.
A person must be at least 18 years of age. At 18 years of age, the driver will be permitted to drive commercially only within the State of Colorado. The license will have a “K” restriction attached to it. This restricts the validity of this commercial license to the State of Colorado when it is being used to operate a commercial vehicle.
A person must be at least 21 years of age to operate a non-farm commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce.
Before applying for a Colorado CDL instruction permit, you must first hold a valid Colorado Driver’s License. To receive the instruction permit, you must provide to the Colorado Department of Motor vehicle the following:
If you pass the required written test(s) and are issued an instruction permit, you will then need to complete the CDL driving skills test. There are three types of general skills that are tested in the CDL driving skills test: Pre-trip inspection; Basic vehicle control; and On-road driving. You must take these tests in the type/class of vehicle for which you wish to be licensed for.
You can typically take the written CDL exam for a CDL permit at any “Full Service” Motor Vehicle location. You may want to call your local office ahead of time to make sure they administer the written CDL examination. You can look up information for your local Motor Vehicle office online by going to the Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles website.
CDL skills tests in Colorado are administered through approved third party testers. You can find a list of these approved third party testers online through the Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles website..
CDLs come in three different classes:
There are several endorsements that a CDL driver needs to consider in addition to the class of CDL they need to obtain. These endorsements are:
There are three major restrictions- a “K” restriction, a “L” restriction or a “No/Trctr/Trlr restriction.
Whether you will need to retake the written and skills test to renew your CDL depends on how long the license has been expired. If the license is expired for one year or less, there is no written or skills test. A vision test will be required. If the license is expired for over a year, BOTH the written and drive tests are required..